## VI. PERMANENT OBSERVERS

## PERMANENT OBSERVERS

Permanent-observer status in the Organization of American States was established by the General Assembly at its first regular session, held in San José, Costa Rica, in 1971 [AG/RES. 50 (I-O/71)]. Permanent observers participate in the Organization's activities and contribute to its programs. As of the date of this report, there are 60 permanent observers.

The Office of External Relations and Resource Mobilization, which is part of the Department of Communications and External Relations, is responsible for institutional relations with the permanent observers apropos their participation in the life of the Organization and resource mobilization. Through informative meetings, exchanges of documents, and special events, the Office of External Relations and Resource Mobilization promotes these countries' active involvement and collaboration in the activities of the General Secretariat.

At the present time, the Organization has 60 permanent observers. Two states were granted permanentobserver status in 2004: the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the People's Republic of China. With that, the list of permanent observers to the OAS reads as follows: Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Estonia, the European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Georgia, Ghana, Greece, the Holy See, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Morocco, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and Yemen.

During the period covered in this report, the Organization received monetary contributions totaling US\$12 million from the following permanent observer countries: Denmark, the European Union, Finland, France, Germany, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, the Philippines, Qatar, Serbia and Montenegro, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and Turkey. Important in-kind contributions were also made by France, Israel, Italy, Korea, Spain, and Thailand, valued at some US\$1.6 million. The main areas that receive support from these countries are democracy, human rights, settlement of conflicts, the fight against the trafficking in narcotic drugs, and sustainable development and environment, among others. The Office negotiated many of these contributions and organized ceremonies at which agreements were signed in public recognition of the support that the observer countries provide to the Organization's activities. Appendix G to this report itemizes those contributions.

As for the visits made by high-ranking government officials of the permanent observer countries, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China, Li Zhaoxing, visited Organization headquarters and met privately with the Secretary General and his staff to discuss opportunities for cooperation.