COMPETENT AUTHORITIES AND FOCAL POINTS TO THE WAIGANI CONVENTION SEPTEMBER 2006

PARTY	COMPETENT AUTHORITY	FOCAL POINT
Australia	Assistant Secretary Chemicals and the Environment Branch	Assistant Secretary Chemicals and the Environment Branch
Signed: 16 Sept 1995	Environment Quality Division Environment Australia	Environment Quality Division Environment Australia
Ratified: 17 August 1998	GPO Box 787 Canberra, ACT 2601	GPO Box 787 Canberra, ACT 2601
In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Australia Tel: (6126) 250 02 70	Australia Tel: (6126) 250 02 70
	Fax: (6126) 250 03 87 Email: <u>peter.burnett@ea.gov.au</u>	Fax: (6126) 250 02 70 Fax: (6126) 250 03 87 Email: peter.burnett@ea.gov.au
Cook Islands	Mr Vaitoti Tupa Director	Mr Edwin Pittman
Signed: 17 Sept 1995	National Environment Service PO Box 371	Secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs & Immigration PO Box 105
Ratified: 30 October 2000	Rarotonga Cook Islands	Rarotonga Cook Islands
In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Tel: (682) 21256	Tel: (682) 29347 Fax: (682) 21247
	Fax: (682) 22256 Email: <u>vaitoti@oyster.net.ck</u>	Email: secfa@foraffairs.gov.ck
Federated States of	Hon. Dr. Eliueli K. Pretrick	Hon Ieske K Iehsi
<u>Micronesia</u>	Secretary Department of Health, Education and Social	Secretary Department of Foreign Affairs
Signed: 17 Sept 1995	Services PO Box PS 70 Pohnpei	PO Box PS 123 Palikir, Pohnpei
Ratified: 26 January 1996	Federated States of Micronesia 96941	Federated States of Micronesia 96941
In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Telephone: (691) 320 2872 Fax: (691) 320 5263 Email: <u>fsmhealth@mail.fm</u>	Telephone: (691)320 2613/2544/2641 Fax: (691) 320 2933 Email: foreignaffairs@mail.fm
		Estata coorganistis estatismi
<u>Fiji</u>	Mr Epeli Nasome Director of Environment	Mr Bhaskaran Nair Acting Permanent Secretary for Local
Signed: 16 Sept 1995	Ministry of Local Government	Government Housing and Environment
Ratified: 18 April 1996	Housing and Environment PO Box 2131	PO Box 2131 Government Buildings
In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Government Buildings SUVA, Fiji	SUVA, Fiji
m 1 0100. 21 001 2001	Telephone: (679) 311 699	Telephone: (679) 304 307/ 309 918/ 309 917 ext 201
	Fax: (679) 312 879 Email: enasome@govnet.gov.fj	Fax: (679) 303 515 Email: <u>bnair@is.com.fj</u>
<u>Kiribati</u>	Mr. Tukabu Teroroko	Mr. Tukabu Teroroko
Signed: 16 Sept 1995	Permanent Secretary Ministry of Environment and Social	Permanent Secretary Ministry of Environment and Social
Ratified: 28 June 2001	Development PO Box 234	Development PO Box 234
In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Biikenibeu, Tarawa KIRIBATI	Biikenibeu, Tarawa KIRIBATI
	Telephone: (686) 28211 Fax: (686) 28334	Telephone: (686) 28211 Fax: (686) 28334

PARTY	COMPETENT AUTHORITY	FOCAL POINT
New Zealand Signed: 16 Sept 1995 Ratified: 30 November 2000 In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Mr Stuart Calman Manager Energy and the Environment Ministry of Economic Development 33 Bowen Street PO Box 1473 Wellington NEW ZEALAND Telephone: (644) 474 2647 Fax: (644) 473 9930	Mr Glenn Wigley Senior Operator Ministry for the Environment Grand Annexe,84 Boulcott Street Wellington NEW ZELAND Telephone: (644) 917 7515 Fax: (644) 917 7528 Email: glenn.wigley@mfe.govt.nz
Niue Signed: 16 Sept 1995 Ratified: 22 July 2003 In Force: 21 Aug 2003	Email: stuart.calman@med.govt.nz Public Health Division Niue Health Department PO Box 33 Alofi Niue Telephone: (683) 4100 Fax: (683) 4265 Email:	Office for External Affairs Premier's Department PO Box 40 Alofi Niue Telephone: (683) 4200 Fax: (683) 4206/4232 Email: christine.external@mail.gov.nu
Papua New Guinea Signed: 16 Sept 1995 Ratified: 11 Dec. 1995 In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Dr. Wari Iamo Secretary Department of Environment and Conservation Level 7 Somare Foundation PO Box 6601 Boroko, NCD PAPUA NEW GUINEA Telephone: (675) 325 0180 Fax: (675) 325 0182	Dr. Wari Iamo Secretary Department of Environment and Conservation Level 7 Somare Foundation PO Box 6601 Boroko, NCD PAPUA NEW GUINEA Telephone: (675) 325 0180 Fax: (675) 325 0182
Samoa Signed: 16 Sept 1995 Ratified: 23 May 2001 In Force: 21 Oct. 2001	Mr Tuu'u Ieti Taulealo Director Department of Lands, Surveys and Environment Private Mail Bag APIA, Samoa Telephone: (685) 25019/22481 Telex: (779) 221 MALO SX Fax: (685) 23176 Email: tuuu.ieti@samoa.ws	The Secretary for Foreign Affairs Ministry of Foreign Affairs PO Box L1859 APIA, Samoa Telephone: (685) 63333 Fax: (685) 21504 Email: mfa@mfa.gov.ws
Solomon Islands Signed: 16 Sept 1995 Ratified: 7 October 1998 In Force: 21 Oct 2001 Tonga Signed: 16 Sept 1995 Ratified: 22 May 2003 In Force: 21 June 2003	Mr. Joe Horokou Director Environment and Conservation Division Ministry of Forests, Environment & Conservation P O Box G24 HONIARA, Solomon Islands Department of Environment PO Box 917 Nukua'alofa Tonga Telephone: (676) 25050 Fax: (676 25051	Director of Environment

PARTY	COMPETENT AUTHORITY	FOCAL POINT
Tuvalu Acceded: 21 Sept 2001 In Force: 21 Oct 2001	Ms. Susan Tupulaga Acting Waste Coordinator Office of Prime Minister Department of Environment PO Box 148 Vaiaku, Funafuti Tuvalu Telephone: (688) 20164	Permanent Secretary Ministry of Environment, Energy and Tourism Private Mail Bag Vaiaku, Funafuti Tuvalu Telephone: (688) 20171 Fax: (688) 20826 Email: enviro@tuvalu.ty or
	Fax: (688) 20826 Email: waste@tuvalu.tv	pklaupepe@yahoo.com

NON-PARTY	COMPETENT AUTHORITY	FOCAL POINT
Marshall Islands	Mr. John Bungitak General Manager Environmental Protection Authority	
Signed:	P O Box 1322 MAJURO, Marshall Islands 96960	
Ratified:		
<u>Nauru</u>	Mr. Tyrone Deiye Secretary Department of Economic Development	
Signed: 16 Sept 1995	Government Offices Yaren District	
Ratified:	Nauru	