(Clique aqui para ver esta inflormašao em Portuguese)

| About the BCLME Programme | The Benguela region |
| The development of the BCLME Programme |
ImplementationInstitutional arrangements |
Future actions  | The LME Concept |
| Status of the BCLME Programme | Country Profiles |

Institutional Arrangements
Institutional Arrangements for Programme Implementation and Execution

The BCLME Programme is intended to serve, in part, as a substantial capacity-building tool. It is intended that the three participating countries, Angola, Namibia and South Africa, will work together through the Benguela Current Commission ato implement an "ecosystem approach" to managing the BCLME.

Implementing Agency

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) is the GEF Implementing Agency for this project. The UNDP is one of the formally designated GEF Implementing Agencies and is accountable to the GEF for all aspects of project implementation.

Executing Agency

The Executing Agency for the project is the United Nations Office for Project Services or UNOPS. UNOPS has experience in the successful management of UNDP-GEF International Waters projects. Additionally, UNOPS personnel are well-positioned to offer to the Programme Coordination Unit the expert services that it requires to ensure adherence to standard UNDP practice with regard to, among other things, the recruitment processes, contracting, and the coordination of monitoring and evaluation functions.

Programme Steering Committee

The Programme Steering Committee comprises three members from each of the participating countries, and a representative from UNDP-GEF, SADC and BENEFIT.

Programme Coordination Unit

The Programme Coordination Unit, or PCU, provides a coordination and management structure for the development and implementation of the BCLME Programme. The PCU comprises the Chief Technical Advisor (CTA), Office Manager, Secretary, and contract personnel.

The Chief Technical Advisor

The CTA is responsible for the overall coordination of all aspects of the BCLME Programme. He liaises directly with designated officials of the participating countries, the Implementing Agency, the Executing Agency, UNDP Country Offices, existing and potential donors, and others as deemed appropriate and necessary by the PSC or by the CTA himself. The budget and associated work plan guide the day-to-day implementation of the Project Document and the integration of the various donor-funded parallel initiatives.

The CTA is responsible for delivery of all substantive, managerial and financial reports from and on behalf of the Project and provides overall supervision for all GEF staff in the Programme Coordination Unit.

Activity Centres

An Activity Centre is located in each of the three participating countries. The Activity Centres have been created through in-kind contributions by the governments of the participating countries, as well as with significant funding from donors.

  • The Living Marine Resources Activity Centre, which is responsible for issues related to living marine resources in the BCLME, is located in Swakopmund, Namibia.

  • The Biodiversity, Ecosystem Health & Pollution Activity Centre, focuses on issues related to biodiversity, ecosystems and pollution and is located in Luanda, Angola.

  • The Environmental Variability Activity Centre, is located in Cape Town, South Africa, and focuses on issues related to environmental variability and predictability.

Working with and through the CTA, the directors of the three Activity Centres are responsible for developing and coordinating the work of the Activity Centres and assisting the Advisory Groups assigned to their respective Activity Centres.

Advisory Groups

The Advisory Groups provide technical expertise to the BCLME Programme. They are required to provide the PCU with the best possible advice and information on topics key to implementation of the BCLME Strategic Action Programme. They also translate a part of the overall budget into specific projects and activities that will address transboundary problems.

The Advisory Groups consist of two members from each of the participating countries.