Advisory Committee on Protection of the Sea


Home Page

ACOPS Officers


UK Marine Pollution Survey

Russian Arctic

Russian Arctic 

GEF Project

African Process

Climate Change in Sub-Saharan Africa




Parliamentary Debates

Earlier Initiatives

Contact Details




ACOPS Officers


Founding President

The Rt. Hon Lord Callaghan of Cardiff KG
Former British Prime Minister and Founder of ACOPS


Former President

The Rt. Hon Lord Clinton-Davis of Hackney PC
Privy Councillor, former British Minister for Trade, Department of Trade and Industry,
and former Member of the Commission of the European Union



Lord Hunt of Chesterton, CB FRS
Professor of Climate Modelling & Honorary Professor of Mathematics.  Department
of Geological Sciences & Department of Space  & Climate Physics, University College, London





Professor Laurence Mee

Professor of the Marine Environmental Policy Research Group of the University of Plymouth

Honorary Treasurer

Mr. Andrew von Dadelszen
Principal of von Dadelszen & Co. Limited, Tauranga, New Zealand

Regional Councillor, Environment Bay of Plenty Regional Council, New Zealand


Associate Executive Director

 Mr. Terry Jones
Former Director General, Ministry of Tourism & Transport, Republic of Seychelles



Co-Director, ACOPS Europe


Dr. Trevor Dixon

Senior Lecturer in Corporate Environmental Management, Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College



Council of Vice-Presidents


Mr. Harri Ahveninen

President, JP Development OY, Finland


Congressman Tom Allen
Member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee.

Co-Chair of the House Oceans Caucus.

Hon. Mr. Heherson T. Alvarez

Secretary for Environment and Natural Resources, Republic of the Philippines

HRH Prof. Dr. Princess Chulabhorn Mahidol
President of the Chulabhorn Research Institute, Thailand

Hon. Mr. Modou Fada Diagne
Minister of Environment and Protection of Nature, Senegal

Eng. Rui Manuel Godinho
Chairman of the Board, ValorSul; Former Deputy Mayor of Lisbon, Portugal

Prof. Vladimir A. Grachev
Chairman of the Environment Committee of the State Duma, Parliament of the
Russian Federation


Hon. Mr Ronny Jumeau
Minister of Environment, Republic of Seychelles


Admiral Igor Kasatonov
Deputy Commander-in-Chief of the Russian Navy (Retired), and Chairman of
Section No.2 on Sea and Ocean Studies in the Russian Federation
Committee on Science and Technology

Mr. Ian Kiernan
Chairman, Clean up the World Pty Ltd., Australia


Hon. Dr Newton Kulundu

Minister of Environment, Kenya

Mr. Franklin J. McDonald
CEO, National Environment and Planning Agency (NEPA), Jamaica


Mr. José Vicente Mogollón
Former Minister of the Environment, Colombia

Mr. Jan Henry Olsen
Former Minister of Fisheries, Norway

Hon. Mr. Gilbert Parent
Ambassador for the Environment, Department of Foreign Affairs and
International Trade, Canada


Hon. Mr. Chérif Rahmani
Minister of Land Use Planning and Environment, Algiers


Hon. Dr. Nick Smith
Opposition Education Spokesperson, Former Minister of Conservation, of Education
and of Correction, New Zealand

Baroness Wilcox of Plymouth
Shadow Minister (House of Lords), United Kingdom


Mr. Yang Zhenhuai
Vice-Chairman of the Committee of Agriculture and Rural Areas, National People's Congress, People's Republic of China



11 Dartmouth Street, London SW1H 9BN, United Kingdom