Advisory Committee on Protection of the Sea


Home Page

ACOPS Officers


UK Oil Pollution Survey

Russian Arctic

Russian Arctic 

GEF Project

African Process

Climate Change in Sub-Saharan Africa




Parliamentary Debates

Earlier Initiatives

Contact Details



New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)


The New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) is a strategic initiative and vision for Africa’s renewal. NEPAD was developed through a mandate given to the five initiating Heads of State (Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, and South Africa) by the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) to develop an integrated socio-economic development framework for Africa. The 37th Summit of the OAU in July 2001 formally adopted the strategic framework document.


NEPAD is designed to address the current challenges facing the African continent, including escalating poverty levels, underdevelopment and the continued marginalisation of Africa in the global economy.  The primary objectives of NEPAD are to eradicate poverty, and place African countries, both individually and collectively, on a path of sustainable growth and development and full integration into the global economy.


NEPAD is based on the principles of good governance, African ownership and leadership, and broad participation by all sectors of society. Furthermore, the goals of NEPAD will be achieved by anchoring the development of Africa on its resources and the resourcefulness of its people, and by enhancing partnerships between and amongst African peoples through the acceleration of regional integration. NEPAD also seeks to strengthen the competitiveness of African countries and to forge new international partnership aimed at changing the unequal relationship between Africa and the developed world. Finally, all Partnerships with NEPAD are linked to the Millennium Development Goals and other agreed development goals and targets.


Chapter 8 of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) defines the NEPAD Environment Initiative, and calls for the development and adoption of a coherent action plan and strategies to address the region’s environmental challenges while at the same time combating poverty and promoting socio-economic development. The Environment Initiative comprises eight priority sectors and cross-cutting issues: Combating land degradation, drought and desertification; Wetlands; Invasive species; Marine and coastal resources; Cross-border conservation of natural resources; Climate change; and, Cross-cutting issues.


The Coastal and Marine priority area got a head start through a Global Environment Facility (GEF) medium-sized project, the “African Process for the Development and Protection of the Coastal and Marine Environment in Sub-Saharan Africa” that involved eleven coastal states from Nov 2000 to Sept 2002.






11 Dartmouth Street, London SW1H 9BN, United Kingdom